13 Best Christmas Picture Books That Are All-Time Favourite

IN THIS ARTICLE

Nothing warms the heart or brings the family closer than reading stories about Christmas miracles. This year, pick up the best Christmas picture books and read some beautiful stories together with your family. Take your pick from our list of entertaining, educational, and engaging Christmas picture books below.

13 Best Christmas Picture Books

1. Best Holiday Staple:How the Grinch Stole Christmas

The uplifting tale by Dr. Seuss about the benefits of the Christmas spirit can bring joy to you. The Grinch is a holiday staple, and his narrative can be the perfect present for young and old readers. Its vivid illustration and wholesome story about Christmas can be a suitable addition to your collection. Click here to check out a detailed personal review of this product.

2. Best Puzzle Book:’Twas the Night Before Christmas

The unique picture book adaptation of a classic Christmas story doubles as a Hidden Pictures puzzle book, making it the ideal holiday gift for families. You can find more than 120 holiday-themed hidden objects and read this vibrant book with the whole family. It is written by Clement Clarke Moore and illustrated by Deborah Melmon. Here’s a review video to help you get a better understanding of the product.

3. Best For Ages Three To Six:5 More Sleeps ‘Til Christmas

Written by author Jimmy Fallon, 5 More Sleeps ’til Christmas features the stunning and lively artwork of Rich Deas. This 48-page book is suitable for kids aged from three to six to read. It is about the excitement and anticipation before Christmas, which everyone in the family can relate to. Need more information? Watch this video to make an informed decision about the product.

4. Best Rhyming Story:Construction Site On Christmas Night

Construction Site on Christmas Night is a holiday picture book that shows Excavator, Bulldozer, Crane, Dump Truck, and Cement Mixer building a new home for fire engines. It can be perfect for fans of Sherri Duskey Rinker’s storytelling and AG Ford’s art. Children will enjoy discovering the surprises awaiting each vehicle and rhyming along with the story.

5. Best Illustrations:The Jolly Christmas Postman

With an interactive picture book of real letters to read aloud, this is a beautifully illustrated 32-page classic by Allan Ahlberg. On Christmas, Jolly Postman delivers numerous amazing letters, including greetings from the Big Bad Wolf and all of the King’s men. You can take out the letters from this book to see what letters your favorite characters would write to each other and reinvent classic stories together.

6. Best For Value Lessons:Bear Stays Up For Christmas

In this beautiful picture book from bestselling author Karma Wilson, Bear and his friends celebrate the holidays. Bear’s pals are determined to keep him awake for Christmas, and so they ask for his help finding a Christmas tree, baking cakes, hanging stockings, and singing Christmas songs. Bear manages to stay awake by realizing that giving is one of the best Christmas gifts.

7. Best Inspirational:Dasher: How A Brave Little Doe Changed Christmas Forever

A story about chasing your dreams, it is written by Matt Tavares and is suitable for children aged between four and eight years. Dasher is a daring, young reindeer who spends her days in a touring circus with her family in the scorching heat but yearns for a better existence with snow and the North Star.

8. Best For Environment Learning: Mr. Willowby’s Christmas Tree

Mr. Willowby’s Christmas Tree is authored by Robert Barry. As the treetop spreads delight among everybody, children will enjoy watching it move from home to home, while families will appreciate the lessons of conservation and recycling. This 32-page book is suitable for children aged between three and seven years.

9. Best Classic Story:Merry Christmas Mom And Dad

Written by Mercer Mayer, this 24-page book is a good read for kids aged three to seven. Parents and children can relate to this classic story starring Little Critter, who prepares for the holidays by building wreaths, munching gingerbread cookies, and putting the star on the top of the tree.

10. Best Book With Audio Narration: Frozen Olaf’s Night Before Christmas Book & CD

The protagonist of this picture book, Olaf, embarks on a once-in-a-lifetime journey with a mystery man in red. Its audio narration by Josh Gad, the voice of Olaf, is included on the read-along CD. Olaf’s sweet and hilarious rendition of The Night Before Christmas will thrill fans of all generations.

11. Best Heartwarming:The Christmas Miracle Of Jonathan Toomey

The anniversary edition of the Christmas Miracle picture book contains a fresh note from the author Susan Wojciechowski and an audio narration by James Earl Jones. The story revolves around Jonathan Toomey, the valley’s best woodcarver, who is always alone and never smiles. However, a widow and her young son approach him one day, leading to a wonderful miracle.

12. Best Engaging:Red and Lulu

Red and Lulu is a heartwarming story from author Matt Tavares that combines the joy of Christmas, the beautiful New York City, and the true meaning of the holiday season. Red and Lulu had built their home in a lovely evergreen tree, but the two birds got separated one day. The beautiful illustration and writing will take you along on their journey to find each other.

13. Best Narrative:Little Red Sleigh: A Heartwarming Christmas Book For Children

Erin Guendelsberger’s The Little Red Sleigh is about a young sleigh who wants to be Santa’s large red sleigh one day. However, she’s been told her whole life that she’s too small, young, can’t fly, and can’t possibly meet Santa. Celebrate the Christmas spirit as she takes on the challenge to fulfill her dreams. 

Reading Christmas books can make the holiday feel special, especially the ones full of pictures and values. During Christmas week, the whole family can get together to read out these illustrated books suitable for children and adults. Choose from our list of the best Christmas picture books to add to your child’s or your collection.

Why Trust MomJunction?

Nothing feels as festive as reading a Christmas book by the fireside when Christmas is around the corner. Thus, Wedetso Chirhah, our experienced reviewer of books and children’s products, has reviewed the top-selling Christmas picture books and listed the best ones to help you lay your hands on the most fun and exciting options. He has referred to various book-reviewing websites to make his reviews informative and detailed. Moreover, he has included books of different types to help you pick one that suits your taste.

Recommended Articles:

Was this information helpful?
thumbsupthumbsdown
The following two tabs change content below.

Wedetso Chirhah

Wedetso Chirhah holds a masters degree in English Literature from Mangalore University. He had written content for more than 15 B2B websites and edited school books before joining MomJunction as an editor. Wedetso ensures the articles meet the highest editorial standards. He enjoys making content understandable and relatable to readers, and he is a big fan of the versatile em... more

LATEST ARTICLES