23 Magical Books Like Harry Potter For Kids To Read in 2023

In This Article

Harry Potter books are among the greatest books of our generation, filled with suspense, fascinating characters, and magic. If your children are fans of that genre, we have a list of the best books like Harry Potter that will transform them into another dimension. These books will fascinate them, and children find them interesting. However, if you are looking for novels that can let your child explore a magical world and fantasy beyond Hogwarts, we have a list for you. So we present to you some magical books that can capture your child’s imagination as the Harry Potter series.

23 Magical Books Like Harry Potter For Kids

1. Best Classic Fantasy Series: The Lord of the Rings Series

Price at the time of publication: $58.56

 

Author: J.R R. Tolkien

‘The Lord of the Rings’ is a classic fantasy series that was first published in 1955. The story begins with a dark lord named Sauron forging a supreme ring to override the control exercised by other magical rings. But Sauron’s ring is lost, and a series of events that follow lead the ring to a hobbit named Bilbo Baggins. The rest of the story is about Bilbo’s experience of mystery and magic fueled by the ring.

2. Best Mythological Fantasy: Percy Jackson & The Olympians Series

Price at the time of publication: $483.01

 

Author: Rick Riordan

Percy Jackson’s mother reveals his secret to him: he is a half-blood, or half human and half god, thus making him a demi-god. But the status of a demi-god comes with its share of challenges and dangers. Soon, Percy finds himself fighting demons to protect humanity in a tale told across five books.

3. Best Dystopian: The Hunger Games Series

Price at the time of publication: $25.99

 

Author: Suzanne Collins

‘The Hunger Games’ is set in dystopian North America which has several districts, with the Capitol district as the crown in the jewel. The other districts wage war against Capitol but are defeated. Capitol forges a peace agreement under which each district has to send a teenage boy and girl for the annual series of games called ‘The Hunger Games.’

The story revolves around a teenage girl named Katniss, who is chosen from her district. Will she or will she not survive this ‘fight unto death’ game? ‘The Hunger Games’ is packed with several fantasy elements that are told across the three books in the series.

4. Best Narrative Style: Miss Peregrine’s Home for Peculiar Children

Price at the time of publication: $9.15

 

Author: Ransom Riggs

After a tragic event, sixteen-year-old Jacob sets off to an island, off the coast of Great Britain. There, Jacob discovers an abandoned house that contains photographs and records of an orphanage. ‘What was an orphanage doing so far from the mainland?’, wonders Jacob. The children there could be dangerous and probably still alive. Little does Jacob realize that he has stumbled upon a Pandora’s box.

5. Best Supernatural: The Golden Compass: His Dark Materials

Price at the time of publication: $8.99

 

Author: Philip Pullman

The book tells the story of a young girl named Lyra who is heading to the North. The North is ruled by clans of witches and armored polar bears. It is also the place where children get stolen and where her fearsome uncle resides. But the small girl is determined to travel for she needs to rescue her kidnapped friend Roger and bring a world-altering change to the land.

6. Best Mythical Characters: The Chronicles of Narnia Series

Author: C. S. Lewis

‘The Chronicles of Narnia’ is a series of seven books with the first one published in 1956. The tale is set in the magical land of Narnia where a talking lion named Aslan and an evil witch named Jadis break their truce. Amidst the tensions, four siblings find their way into Narnia through a wardrobe, and that begins their adventure. The book is full of mythical creatures and fascinating characters that will keep a child wholly entertained.

7. Best Adventure: Watership Down

Price at the time of publication: $13.99

 

Author: Richard Adams

The story is set in rural England where a group of rabbits learns that their land is going to be ravaged by humans. The rabbits will lose their homes, and there is no other choice but to find a new place to live. Thus, the tiny creatures set out in search of new lands. But the journey is not easy, and the rabbits have their very own problems to solve.

8. Best Classic And Whimsical: Alice’s Adventures in Wonderland (Alice in Wonderland)

Price at the time of publication: $21.49

 

Author: Lewis Carroll

It is the age-old story of fantasy, adventure, and going down the ‘rabbit hole.’ The tale begins with a drowsy Alice lazing on the riverside with her sister. Just then, a rabbit springs along and captures her attention. Alice follows the critter and soon finds herself tumbling down a hole, which leads to a world teeming with strange creatures and talking objects.

9. Best Adult Fantasy: The Mortal Instrument Series

Price at the time of publication: $64.99

 

Author: Cassandra Clare

‘The Mortal Instrument’ is a series of six fantasy books that tell the tale of a young girl named Clary Fray. Clary is drawn into the world of demons and demon hunters when she witnesses the slaying of a demon. ‘Shadowhunters’ is the name of the warrior group that keeps the demons in check. Clary unknowingly gets sets off events that will intertwine her life with those of Shadowhunters forever.

10. Best For Young Readers: The Wonderful Wizard of Oz

Price at the time of publication: $0.3

 

Author: L. Frank Baum

‘The Wonderful Wizard of Oz’ has fascinated young readers all across the world ever since its debut in 1900. The story is about a young girl named Dorothy and her dog Toto who are transported by a tornado to the strange land called Oz. Oz is a land of witches and flying monkeys. Dorothy and Toto make three new friends: a tinman, a scarecrow, and a cowardly lion. Together, they set off to meet the powerful Wizard of Oz who can grant them a wish and probably help Dorothy return home.

11. Pennyroyal Academy

Price at the time of publication: $8.99

 

Author: M. A. Larson

Evie enrolls at the Pennyroyal Academy, a place where they train princesses and knights to become warriors. Each student there learns to fight the witches and dragons. At the academy, Evie encounters a new world of friends, enemies, and a strict teacher named Fairy Drillsergeant. When Evie graduates from the academy, she discovers that her fight against witches and dragons is going to be more personal than she thought.

12. Inkheart Series

Price at the time of publication: $6.99

 

Author: Cornelia Funke

One night, Meggie’s father reads aloud a book named ‘Inkheart’ while Meggie listens. But the book is no ordinary one; it is riddled with magic. The character of an evil ruler jumps the boundaries of fiction and lands into the realm of reality. Soon, Meggie finds herself in the middle of an adventure story and learns to harness the power of magic herself.

13. The Alchemyst: The Secrets of the Immortal Nicholas Flamel

Price at the time of publication: $8.99

 

Author: Michael Scott

The protagonist of the story is Nicholas Flamel, who is over seven hundred years old. Nicholas finds the secret to a long life in the Book of Abraham the Mage, which lets him live that long. But an evil Dr. John Dee fin this out and is after the book. This time he will need more than himself to save the book. According to a prophecy, Nicholas has to team up with twins Sophie and Josh, who will be the only ones to prevent the book from falling in the hands of evil Dr. Dee.

14. The Ranger’s Apprentice Series

Price at the time of publication: $79.21

 

Author: John Flanagan

‘The Ranger’s Apprentice’ is a collection of 12 books that begins with the story of a boy named Will, who gains apprenticeship with Rangers – the protectors of the kingdom. The Rangers practice magic and protect the people from evil forces. The first book narrates Will’s experience witnessing a battle for the first time, and how that sets the stage for his future adventures with the Rangers. The collection of 12 books has enough fantasy and imagination to keep the child busy for a long summer.

15. Dragon Slippers

Price at the time of publication: $5.39

 

Author: Jessica Day George

Creel’s aunt wants to give her away to a dragon so that a heroic knight fights the dragon and marries Creel. However, Creel is not worried about her aunt’s plan since no one has seen a dragon. But one day, a dragon appears, and Creel’s worst fears come alive. Creel’s aunt gives her away to the dragon, but the girl is smart and negotiates a deal with the dragon. In return, Creel gets a pair of blue shoes from the dragon. But the shoes are not ordinary and have enough magic to save a kingdom.

16. Redwall

Price at the time of publication: $8.99

 

Author: Brian Jacques

It is a fantasy tale about a peaceful kingdom of mice. The peace of their kingdom is soon going to be disrupted by the invasion of Cluny the Scourge who is a rat. The mice search for ways to prepare their defenses and learn of a sword that can help them win the battle. But they have to find the sword before it is too late.

17. Keeper of the Lost Cities

Price at the time of publication: $9.99

 

Author: Shannon Messenger

Sophie Foster is a 12-year-old who can read the minds of people. She considers her telepathic abilities unique until one day she meets Fitz, a boy who is also a telepath like her. Sophie soon learns that she belongs to a world of telepaths, and the world of humans was only a place for her to hide. She sets out to seek the new world, but not without burying some secrets deep within her mind.

18. Beautiful Creatures

Price at the time of publication: $9.99

 

Author: Kami Garcia

Lena is a young girl who lives in a small, quaint town of Gatlin, where nothing much exciting happens. But Lena has some hidden powers that become her curse. On the other side of town is a boy named Ethan, who wants to escape the sleepy town. But when Lena moves into Ethan’s neighborhood, he is immediately drawn towards the girl. It thus marks the beginning of their friendship and a foray into the dark world.

19. The School for Good and Evil

 

Author: Soman Chainani

The story tells the tale of a magical place called The School for Good and Evil. Children from the world are kidnapped in pairs; one is sent to the school of good and another to the evil one. Sophie and Agatha are two girls who look forward to being taken to school.

Sophie is always devoted to good deeds and considers herself worthy for the school of good. Agatha, with her mean nature, seems fit for the school of evil. But the girls are shocked to find themselves being selected to a school against their expectations. Soon they realize that it was a deliberate placement to reveal the girls’ true natures.

20. The Five Kingdoms Series

Price at the time of publication: $66.5

 

Author: Brandon Mull

The series begins with the story of a young boy named Cole Randolph spending Halloween in the basement of a haunted house with his friends. But the house is a portal to a scary magical place called ‘The Outskirts.’ The place contains five kingdoms. Cole’s friends are pulled into The Outskirts, and it is up to Cole to save his friends and the day. ‘The Five Kingdom Series’ consists of five books that tell the complete adventures of Cole and his friends.

21. The Dark Is Rising

Price at the time of publication: $67.4

 

Author: Susan Cooper

On his eleventh birthday, Will Stanton discovers that he is not an ordinary boy. He is a Sign-Seeker – a group of immortal ‘old ones’ who have the power to defeat the dark. The timing of Will’s realization cannot be better, for the evil one called the ‘Dark’ has risen. Will and his team of friends embark on defeating Dark with a weapon that can quell the dark one forever.

22. The Inheritance Cycle Series

Price at the time of publication: $24.99

 

Author: Christopher Paolini

‘The Inheritance Cycle’ series begins with Eragon, a teenage boy who discovers a blue stone in the forest. The blue stone turns out to be an egg of a dragon, and eventually, Eragon has a dragon hatchling. The dragon grows to be a tame one. Eragon soon finds himself in the world of magic where all he has is a sword and a dragon to defeat the evil forces.

23. The Underland Chronicles

 

Author: Suzanne Collins

The story begins with a young boy named Gregor falling through a vent in his New York apartment. After the fall, Gregor finds himself in the magical world of Underland – a city where humans live alongside giant rats and cockroaches. But everything is not well. Humans and creatures of the Underland are at the brink of war. Gregor’s arrival to the Underland was a prophecy, and it is about time that the little boy brings order to this mysterious underground world.

How To Choose The Right Magical Book For Kids?

Check out the following factors to find a suitable magical book for your child.

  1. Theme: Explore various interesting themes to find one your child may like. Magical storylines can be set in dystopias, mythological scenarios, and more. So, consider your child’s interests to find a suitable book.
  2. Language: Ensure the book is easy to read and written in simple language for children to understand easily. They should have age-appropriate content to introduce them to various ideas and challenge their vocabulary and writing skills.
  3. Reviews: Check the reviews of the book you choose to see what other parents and fellow readers think about the book. These reviews will help you understand if the book is suitable for your child.

Why Trust MomJunction?

Wedetso Chirhah is a literature enthusiast and loves writing on books, kids, etc. He enjoys exploring various forums and compiling fascinating and gripping novels to encourage your child’s reading interests. As children love fantasy stories, he has created a list of the best books like Harry Potter to give you and your children a magical reading experience. Wedetso has researched various user reviews to ensure these books are suitable for your child and interesting.

Frequently Asked Questions

1. Do magical books have any effect on kids’ development?

Magical books boost your little one’s creativity, enhance imagination, and help them to deviate from the current world. These books also help in improving vocabulary and language skills.

2. What is the right age to read magical books?

There is no specific age to read these books. However, it depends on the understanding and reading level of the child. Your child can begin reading magical books as early as six years. However, each book is meant for a specific age, and checking this helps make the right decision.

3. Why is Harry Potter the best book series ever?

One of the reasons why the Harry Potter services has a huge fan base is that it combines the charm of magic and wizardry with friendships, love, and losses that different characters witness. It also teaches life lessons: sticking together in hard times and being kind.

4. Why do adults like Harry Potter books?

Although Harry Potter belongs to the fantasy genre targeting children, this book explores grief, loss, and togetherness. It also captures the thin line between good and evil.

When thinking about mystical books, probably the first name that appears in our mind will be Harry Potter. But there are many more mystical books, like those listed above, you can find for your kids to read. Ranging from The “Lord of the Rings Series” to “The Chronicles of Narnia Series,” these are some of the best magical books like Harry Potter for kids. The powerful character and beautiful storyline of each book can easily get your kids hooked on reading. So, go ahead and purchase any of these series to keep your child engaged, engrossed, and entertained.

Infographic: Factors To Look For Before Buying A Magical Book

Magical books can take your child into an imaginary world and keep them engaged for hours. But picking the right magical book for your child may be tedious, with various options available. Thus, we have compiled a list of points in the below infographic to help you decide.

Tips For Choosing A Magical Book [infographic]
Illustration: MomJunction Design Team

Recommended Articles:

Was this article helpful?
thumbsupthumbsdown
The following two tabs change content below.