The Eight Different Phases Of The Moon

The different phases of the moon, from Crescent to New Moon, are sure to catch the imagination of every child. What are these moon phases, and how do they differ from each other? The answers are given in this interesting worksheet. So, get started and enjoy exploring the different phases of the moon.

NEW MOON:

It is also known as the INVISIBLE PHASE. In this phase, the New Moon comes in the middle, that is, directly between the Sun and the Earth.

WAXING CRESCENT MOON:

During the waxing crescent moon phase, the moon appears like a crescent. The crescent increases in size with each passing day.

FIRST QUARTER MOON:

Also known as the HALF MOON PHASE, the first quarter moon is the phase when exactly half of the lit moon's surface becomes visible.

WAXING GIBBOUS MOON:

The waxing gibbous moon is the phase when more than half but less than a full circle of the lit moon's surface is visible.

FULL MOON:

The full moon is a phase when the fully lit moon becomes visible. During this phase, the moon gets positioned on the opposite side of the Earth from the Sun.

WANING GIBBOUS MOON:

This is also a phase where one can see more than half, but less than a full circle of the lit part of the moon's surface. However, following this phase, the lit surface of the moon gradually wanes or decreases.

HALF QUARTER MOON:

The half quarter moon is the phase when one gets to see exactly half of the lit surface of the moon's surface.

WANING CRESCENT MOON:

In this phase, the lit surface of the moon appears like a crescent, with the crescent WANING or decreasing with each passing day until it reaches the New Moon Phase (BLUE MOON).

Mom



Match each phase of the moon with its image.

